October Birthday and Retrospect

My favorite month. Why? It’s my birthday month, so I try to treat “Me” special. It’s also late fall in here in Alaska. Not as spectacular as some parts of the U.S., but beautiful none the less. We’ve had some beautiful colors, our hay is harvested, & there’s a skiff of snow that’s not melting away.

Most of my birthday I was with Klondike. Klondike is my Gammill longarm quilting machine; “she” & I spend a lot of time together.  We were quilting two lap-size Christmas quilts for our local guild. Dear Husband was working on our Ford tractor. When evening came, we had a delicious dinner at our favorite Italian restaurant (though we didn’t choose Italian entrees).

Birthday #76.

As the saying goes, I’ve been around the block. As quilting goes, I intend to go around a lot more blocks! (Pun intended) I have made more than five hundred quilts (documented & photographed), most of them in the last twelve years since retiring from teaching school. It’s what I love to do, combined with the machine quilting.

This birthday month also included attending MQX, Machine Quilters Exposition West, in Portland, Oregon. Wonderful inspiration & great classes. I’ll post photos of class projects when they’re done.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

