Stash treatment

My “stash” is not large. (“Large” is a relative term…) It does not inundate a closet, overflow drawers, overwhelm a sewing room (I have none), or compare with what I hear some other quilters describe.

However, there is one box of lesser quality fabrics that I keep separate, as I lean more & more to top of the line fabric manufacturers. And some pieces were beginning to get that old, musty smell. Time to use it up & move on… Using a combination of laundering, time in the dryer, and/or time in the sun, I sorted & freshened.

The Lucky Stars pattern by Atkinson designs is a great one for using odds & ends of fabrics. Each star block can be a different print, & even the background can be a mix of neutrals.

I started cutting, & had enough for two lap-size tops which will be donated to Quilts of Valor, & probably enough for a third with the addition of another neutral. Pieces were stacked together according to assembly & put aside in a plastic bag, my own pre-cut kit!

For two weeks, thru Thanksgiving,  I am visiting son & family at Unalaska/Dutch Harbor.  My Singer Featherweight is here permanently. (I’ve  helped the five grandchildren make their first quilt blocks & further projects).

Here’s the view out my kitchen window.

It’s like a mini-retreat. My husband did not come along this time, & I can sew all I want!

Do you see the “oops” (lower right)? Had to take that one apart.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Stash treatment”

  1. cherryandcinnamon Says:

    Unbelieveable view you’ve got there! Also, these stars are really pretty, cut price fabrics or not. I’m looking forwards to seeing the finished quilt!

Leave a Reply

