Quilting for Counted Cross Stitch


A recent customer memory quilt is composed of various blocks by various individuals. Several of the blocks are counted cross stitch–or needlepoint; I don’t know the difference. It just didn’t seem right to try to “outline” the intricate designs, but the quilting layers have to be held together with fairly close quilting.

My solution is to use crosshatching. Shown below is the Quilt EZ longarm template. The company makes an adapter stylus, as the Gammill stylus is not quite long enough. My husband is a machinist, & he made me a professional looking stylus (although a broken knitting needle would probably work in a pinch).

Quilt EZ cross hatching board & stylus my husband made

It “tracks” as I run the machine, guiding the needle to do a perfect crosshatch pattern on the quilt.

I have also used this method successfully on embroidered blocks.

A Moose-a-Month quilt

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

