Wedding Quilt

We’re going to a wedding! He’s the first of our twelve grandchildren to marry & of course he gets a quilt. But there’s a story behind it.

The year I was born my grandmother made a quilt for me, with the understanding I could have it when I married. I often begged my mother for the quilt, but I didn’t get it until Ken & I were married.

The wedding quilt Grandma M. made for me

When our first grandchild was born, I determined to make a wedding quilt for each, & have done so. The quilt for Grandson & his bride is an Eleanor Burns Log Cabin-in-a-day (it took me longer than that), tied in the center of the blocks, stitched in the ditch around the borders, with the backing folded to the front & stitched down for binding. It was finished before he was a year old.

I’ve learned a lot since then, & my quilts have become more complicated, more sophisticated, more precise, but the love that is built into them hasn’t changed.

 

One Response to “Wedding Quilt”

  1. Linda Kau Says:

    What a great legacy your grandmother left, and wonderful tradition to carry on.
    BTW, my very first quilt was the same design as in your wedding quilt!

Leave a Reply

