Alligators in the Swamp

All new fabric this time…

Local quilt store was overstocked on batiks & offered a generous selection at twenty percent off. Lately I’ve been intrigued with the modern quilt movement & wanted to do something linear. I chose three fabrics in subtle greens (not my favorite colors but with great possibilities for what I had in mind). One was a pale border print that I used for the long strips, the other two would be accents. After a little sketching & figuring, the strips were cut. Assembly was lots of straight sewing, probably the quickest quilt I ever made. Because it’s just three fabrics, “Linear Trio” was my consideration for a good title.

IMG_6127

The fabrics were called celery, lime, & lace ivory, but they reminded me of reptile skin. Laid out on the floor, the finished top became “Alligators in the Swamp,” more reminiscent to me of this creative process than “Linear Trio.”

 

Alligators in the Swamp

Alligators in the Swamp

Leave a Reply

