Sad Day, Glad Day

Yesterday was a sad day in my sewing world. My old faithful 830 Bernina just can’t do it right any more, after 41 years of service & probably five hundred quilts & nearly that many garments.  It wants to sew continually, unless I unplug it or repeatedly kick the foot pedal.

Long story shortened:  A repairman looked at it, & could not get it to fail, but it fails for me. Dear Husband said throw it away & get a new one. Well, I couldn’t just throw it away, but I’m in the middle of several quilt tops with some deadlines looming.

This morning we visited our nearest Bernina dealer (hour & a half drive), & I’m now the proud new owner of a Bernina 350 Patchwork Edition model. So today is a glad day! It doesn’t have all the bells & whistles, but it has enough to keep me happy, at several thousand dollars less than the top model. And if it gives me 41 years of service, I’ll be well past one hundred years of age!

One Response to “Sad Day, Glad Day”

  1. Cath Brough Says:

    may just need a new capacitor in the foot pedal. This is a common problem with old Berninas and singers. Or you can get replacement foot pedals for them.

Leave a Reply

