MQS 2014 Wichita

My wonderful week at Machine Quilters Showcase has come to an end.

Hands-on longarm classes with internationally known teachers have broadened my horizons, pushing me to try different techniques & set new goals. The show quilt entries were amazing, as usual, & the vendors offered tempting tools, fabrics, demos, & more.

The modern quilt movement intrigues me. Being a longarm quilter, I love to fill that negative space. In a class with Dawn Cavanaugh we cut our fabric shapes with the pattern she provided, fused them to a white background, stitched them in place at the longarm, & proceeded to densely quilt the white space.

Here’s my layout & a bit of the quilting I got started before the class ended.

Make Mine Modern layout

Dawn Cavanaugh My class sample MQS14 - Copy

Class samples are practice pieces; strange machine, time constraints, etc. When I get back home I like to finish my class samples & keep them around for future reference.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “MQS 2014 Wichita”

  1. Linda Says:

    Looking forward to seeing your next special quilt! You’re my inspiration.

Leave a Reply

