Designing a quilt from start to finish

About three years ago I bought these Stonehenge panels. The design intrigued me for longarm quilting–thread painting, so to speak, to make them appear pieced. I added borders, made backing & binding, even labels, & put them aside to do the quilting later.

Two Stonehenge panels with borders

Two Stonehenge panels with borders

A year or so later I came across this lovely Northcott fabric (lower left corner).  It was on sale (smile), so I  bought a bunch.

IMG_7500

It coordinated so well with the panels that I decided to do a queen size quilt top.  Currently the panel & its coordinates are not easily available. Because of my husband’s failing health, we are living with our son in Unalaska/Dutch Harbor, & there isn’t a quilt shop for hundreds of miles (frown)!

Crab delivery, Dutch Harbor, Alaska

Crab delivery, Dutch Harbor, Alaska

After extensive browsing on line, I ordered a couple of tan/brown/rust Stonehenge fabrics. They are darker than I wanted (computer coloring isn’t as true as I’d like), but they are working out okay, in addition to some other Stonehenge remnants & Fairy Frost blues.

This post is getting lengthy, so in the next one I’ll continue with my design process.

Leave a Reply

