Designing, Part 2: Developing a plan

So, I have two panels, each  23″ x 42″ (after removing the borders which I saved for possible sashing). Should I put them side by side vertically in the center of the quilt? Or horizontally in the center of the quilt? (I tend to like keeping everything symmetrical.) Sharyn Craig is always urging the “What If…” approach. What if I split one of them? Yes, I like that idea! But then, do I want them vertical? Or horizontal? After some consideration, I chose the vertical layout.

I tried using Custom set in EQ7 but did not have the patience to figure it out, so shifted to graph paper.

IMG_0108

The binding (prepared earlier for the planned wall hangings) was pressed open to use as sashing. Of course there wasn’t quite enough, & my combined  center with sashing came out to 47 1/2″ x 53 1/2″. It took some piecing, trimming & shimming to get to 48 1/2 x 53″. My plan is to surround the large center medallion with eight-inch blocks, so I still need to add a two–inch strip on each side to get to 56 1/2″. There is no more of the beige sashing, so it will be a contrasting strip.

Panels combined into a center medallion

Panels combined into a center medallion

Tomorrow: choosing a block

Leave a Reply

