Three days, three months or three years?

“Ohhh…..how long did it take you to make that?”

This often-asked question is very difficult to answer. I am not an 8:00 to 5:00 automaton. I am pretty much free to sew whenever & however I choose–before 7:00 am, or late at night, or not at all, because I’m not in the mood, or family circumstances interfere.

The idea for a quilt may germinate years before the finished product takes shape; a purchased pattern may lie unused for “ages.”

If I’m designing a quilt, that alone takes an unknown amount of time. Once I have a design–or a pattern–I like to cut as much as I can before starting to sew, sort of like putting a kit together. (Oops–I left out the time it takes to shop for & choose fabrics.)

Generally I like to finish what I start, so there are not UFO’s (unfinished objects) to deal with. But there are exceptions: pieced tops that may wait for years due to running out of a main fabric, finding a technique too difficult, family situations, or just losing interest.

On the other hand, in the past week I pieced eight baby quilts & prepared backings & bindings for them. (More about that in a later post.)

So when you ask me how long it takes, you’ll get a round-about answer that’s not very specific.

Leave a Reply

