Published!

Slices Quilters Newsletter-Finalist issue

My “Slices!”in the lower right corner)

Being selected as a Finalist is special & exciting, even when one is not a winner. This week a copy of Quilter’s Newsletter (April/May2016 issue) arrived in the mail, & there I am!

Slices, N. Rowland 2015

My “Slices!”in the lower right corner)

 

IMG_4485

Last May I ordered the Be Creative Quilt Challenge 2015 fabric bundle. It contained four & a half yards of  Lotta Jansdotter Windham Fabrics. & they did not necessarily “go together,” in my opinion, but I guess that’s what makes it a challenge.

Slices fabric

Be Creative Quilt Challenge fabric bundle

The rules were to use EIGHT of the fabrics, & I could add three more. Right away I saw the black stripe on the far left as a possible background .Below are my choices.

Slices (9)

Top row: my choice of eight provided fabrics;     Bottom row: three additional fabrics

For design inspiration, I turned to magazines & books with a modern flair.

Slices--maybe

Some resources for nspiration

My design plan began to take shape, literally.

I used the striped fabrics as background, then “fussy cut” round & oval motifs from the remaining fabrics to applique onto the background. The motifs were backed (“lined”) with used dryer sheets and/or light Pellon interfacing, sewn right sides together, split & turned right side out. This provided a finished edge for stitching down by machine with a blind hem stitch & smoke mono-filament thread.

Slices (12)

Fussy cutting & lining motifs

Slices (11)

Lined motifs ready to turn

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slices (13)

Arranging ovals & rounds for machine applique

My collection of ovals & round were arranged on the background. As my work progressed, I kept thinking they looked like slices, thence the title for my entry. Here’s a closeup of my finished Be Creative Challenge quilt, Slices.

Machine quilting note:  I loaded the quilt horizontally & quilted long horizontal lines following the waviness of the fabric design. The ovals & rounds feature outline stitching to emphasize their motifs.

Slices (18)

Finished quilt detail

And here’s the back:Slices back

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Published!”

  1. Linda Says:

    Congratulations! And well deserved.

  2. Judy Morrison Says:

    Great job! It does give you a real boost of energy when varified. Judy Morrison

  3. Sylvia Says:

    Nancy…What a great honor. Congratulations. You are awesome and can win contests even “in the bush”. Woohoo!

  4. Glenda Says:

    Congratulations Nancy!!

Leave a Reply

